Chapter 18 – Confession

Day 18 rolled 4 –  locals gave $100- Middle of January

ce16b-screenshot-32“Sorry for dropping in unannounced,” said Leroy when Kaitlin let him in. “ I was on the way to visit a client and wanted to apologize for not letting you know I wasn’t going to be in the bar yesterday.”

“You don’t owe me an apology. It’s your bar.”

Leroy looked over where Reese was working on the old TV, “Looks like they cancelled school again today. It’s snowing like crazy.”

“Yes,” she said simply, not wanting to extend his stay.

“Kate, are you okay? You really look tired.” The concern in his voice was real. Yet it made her angry.

“Thanks – you would too if you came home to find that your home was burglarized while you were away and your children were here asleep by themselves,” and glared at him.

“The kids slept through it?” he asked surprised.

“Yes, thank God. They just took that old PC.”

“You need any help with anything?” he asked yet again.

b182c-screenshot-33“No Leroy. I got this. I need to take advantage of the snow day, while Reese can watch Maddy.  I need to the library and get some studying done. So, if you don’t mind.”

“Okay, okay. I am leaving,” he said apparently finally getting the message. “See you tonight Sexy Kate.”

* * *

After Leroy left, Reese’s mom sat down with him and Ben. “I understand you spoke to Reid,” she said.

Reese nearly choked on his breakfast, “Oh,” was all he could get out.

“Please, Reese. Don’t be foolish. Be very careful. Look at the four of us.  You deserve a better life than this.”

663d6-screenshot-36“Mom, we are okay. I – am careful. Umm, Reid gave me – uh – stuff,”  said Reese while glancing at his brother who was engrossed in his book.  He was never more happy to have Ben shadowing him than he was right now.

“You both can get hurt. I don’t want that for you. I need to go to the library and then come home and take a nap before I go to work. Can you watch Maddy and Ben while I’m gone?”

“Okay Mom,” he said relieved the moment was over.

”Thank you. Oh, and make sure the doors are locked.”

1e3ba-screenshot-3As soon as his mother left for the library, Ben got up and started doing dishes. “What did you get in trouble for?” he asked Reese in a sing song voice.

“None of your business!” said Reese glaring at his brown nosing brother.

“I am going to ask Mr. Reid what you got. I want some too!”

“Ask him and I will throw out your video games,” threatened Reese.

“Not fair,” grumbled Ben and continued to finish washing the dishes.

* * *

fd90a-screenshot-37Kaitlin got home from the Library and was exhausted. Leroy was right. She was really tired. Hopefully she would start feeling better soon. As she laid down to take a nap, she knew, she needed to tell Leroy what was going on. She worked for him so he should know. But how was she going to tell Reid…what if…

87645-screenshot-5An hour later she got up, refreshed, and got ready to go. Then she walked over to her daughter’s crib where she lay sleeping, blissfully innocent. She began to whisper to the sleeping child, “Madison, my baby girl. You will soon be a big sister, no longer the baby of the family. How am I going to tell your brothers? Reese especially. He will be so upset. At least you’re still too young for this to affect you, I hope. Sleep tight angel baby. I love you. We will be okay. Someday soon you will have your own room again.”

* * *

“Hi Leroy. You are here tonight,” said Kaitlin as she absently polished the glasses.

adbf7-screenshot-7“Yes. I said I would see you. Did you get your errands done?”

“Yes.”

Then at the same time they both said, “I need to talk…”

“You first Kaitlin,” then looking up at Candice he said, “Candice can you manage the bar for a few minutes while Kaitlin and I have a talk?”

“Sure Leroy,” purred Candice.

Kaitlin felt a chill run up her spine. She thought she liked Candice, but maybe she might change her mind.

“You first Kate. You going to tell me what’s been bugging you for the past two months?”

1bb11-screenshot-33aKaitlin took a cleansing breath.  “Leroy – I don’t know how to say it except just say it. I’m pregnant.”

ec444-screenshot-36a“Well, shit. I didn’t see that one coming. I thought – hoped – you and lover boy were breaking up. But I see you are still wearing his necklace. Does this mean the playboy has settled down? Someone finally snagged the eternal bachelor.”

93484-screenshot-41

She grabbed the necklace and looked at her feet, “I…uh…”

“You haven’t told him yet?” guessed Leroy from her reaction, “Why not? How far along are you?”

e9695-screenshot-35a

Because it may well be yours she thought. “4 months,” she said as the lie rolled easily off her tongue, purposely not confirming his first question.

She could see Leroy doing the math in his head before he spoke, “Damn, I was hoping that kid might be mine, guess not.”

bf89a-screenshot-27Kaitlin was incredulous. Why would he hope her child was his. “What?” she exclaimed, “Why would you want that? Bragging rights? Well sorry, been there, done that!”

2a754-screenshot-29Shocked at her response, Leroy was speechless, “No Kate…of course not…”

36e2e-screenshot-8

“Save it Leroy. I have to get to work,” she said and stormed over to the bar and started wiping it down.

8051b-screenshot-6

“I’m sorry Kate. Congratulations. What I wanted to tell you was Candice is going to be around more as my contracting and remodeling business has become more demanding. I need to be up early to meet clients and work on sketches and plans in the evenings and….” rambled Leroy.

Kaitlin cut him off mid sentence, “Whatever Leroy, you don’t need to explain yourself.” He owned the place, so why did he feel like he had to justify why he wasn’t going to be here. She had hurt him with her lie, making him think  she was carrying Reid’s child when he wished it were his. Reid, the confirmed playboy and bachelor, settling down with a wife and four kids. But would he when she did tell him? Would she tell him?

Leroy sighed and threw a $100 bill on the bar as he headed for the exit. “Here’s a little bonus for letting me name my drink after you. Maybe this will help replace what the thief took, or use it to buy something nice for your kids. I’ll see you around Se – er – Kate.”

Kaitlin picked up the bill, ready to toss it back at him. “Leroy!” she yelled, “I am not a charity case!”

“Keep it sweetheart. Not charity. You earned it,” he said over his shoulder as the doors swung closed behind him.

34104-screenshot

Kaitlin’s eyes were burning with unshed tears. She needed the money for sure but she was furious with Leroy for giving it to her in the guise of a bonus. “Fine, I will keep it for the baby,” she said to the now empty room as her hand automatically moved to her growing abdomen. Maybe even your baby – Leroy Chapman. she thought.

She started wiping down the bar again, her thoughts racing, So why did I lie to Leroy about how far along I am? Because I hope it’s Reid’s and I wouldn’t be exposed as a cheater? It was okay to tell Leroy, because he already knew I was sleeping with Reid. But even if it is Leroy’s, it doesn’t matter. I will never have another man be with me simply because I am pregnant. Look where it got me the first time. I am working in a dive bar, living in a shabby one bedroom apartment with three kids, soon to be four. When will I stop making bad choices?

Go To Chapter 19>>>>>>>

Go Back to Chapter 17 

17 thoughts on “Chapter 18 – Confession

  1. ohhh, yeah, that is fair. they did drink beforehand. :(idk, i just think reid is kind of… storybook? does that makes sense? he's a great character, and you do a good job of writing him, i just feel like compared to leroy, he seems like far less the reality hahaha. there's something lurking in there that we don't know.

    Like

  2. Well, Kate, look a the bright side! If it's Rein's child, you most likely will get at least some money from him! I hope he won't freak out when she tells him…He is a little bit too dreamy…

    Like

  3. Pingback: Chapter 17 – Packages | Starting Over

  4. Pingback: Chapter 19 – Break Up | Starting Over

Leave a comment